- What the Data Actually Says About the OCUP Pass Rate
- Why No Official Number Exists
- What You Can Measure Instead: Scope, Time and Fees
- Where Candidates Lose Points: The Eight Domains
- How to Spot Fabricated Pass-Rate Claims
- Readiness Signals That Beat a Pass-Rate Statistic
- Sequencing Your Preparation by Domain Weight
- Who Values the Credential
- Frequently Asked Questions
- OMG does not publicly disclose a pass rate for the OMG Certified UML Professional: Intermediate (OCUP) exam, so any specific percentage is unverified.
- The published UML 2 Intermediate exam PDF covers UML v2.5.1 chapters 7 through 20, a wide scope that drives difficulty.
- Activities & Actions carries the heaviest weight at 20%, followed by Basic Structure at 16% and Interactions at 14%.
- The PDF lists 105 minutes in native-English-speaking countries and 135 minutes elsewhere, subject to its extra-time confirmation condition.
What the Data Actually Says About the OCUP Pass Rate
Search for the pass rate of the OMG Certified UML Professional: Intermediate (OCUP) exam and you will find a lot of confident-sounding numbers. Here is the honest answer: the Object Management Group does not publish one. There is no official first-attempt pass percentage, no annual results report, and no public breakdown by region or candidate background.
That makes this article a little different from a typical "pass rate" post. Instead of repeating a statistic nobody can source, we will look at what the verifiable data does tell you: the exam's published scope, its time allowance, its fee structure, and the domain weights that determine where points are won and lost. Together, these give you a far more useful picture of your odds than a single percentage ever could.
Why No Official Number Exists
Certification bodies differ widely in transparency. Some publish pass rates, some publish only that exams are "psychometrically validated," and some say nothing at all. OMG falls into the last group for the UML Intermediate exam: pass rate not publicly disclosed, and the question count, passing threshold and renewal rules are also not stated in the sources we verified.
Several structural reasons plausibly explain the silence, though we present these as context rather than confirmed fact:
- Self-selection. Candidates who sit an intermediate-level modeling exam are usually already comfortable with UML basics, which would skew any raw percentage upward and make it misleading as a difficulty gauge.
- Low volume relative to mass-market IT exams. Specialist modeling certifications draw smaller candidate pools than cloud or project-management credentials, so statistics are less commonly compiled and marketed.
- Prerequisite filtering. UML Foundation knowledge is a prerequisite for the intermediate level, so the population taking the exam is not a random sample of people curious about UML.
For a broader view of how demanding the exam feels in practice, see our companion piece How Hard Is the OCUP Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026. For the scoring side of the equation, OCUP Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass explains what is and is not confirmed about the threshold.
What You Can Measure Instead: Scope, Time and Fees
Even without a pass rate, the exam's published parameters tell you what you are signing up for. The pinned exam specification is the UML 2 Intermediate Exam PDF, written against UML v2.5.1. Here is what we can state with confidence, alongside what remains unverified.
| Item | What Is Verified | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Issuer | Object Management Group (OMG) | Confirmed |
| UML version in scope | UML v2.5.1 | Confirmed in the exam PDF |
| Exam time | 105 minutes in native-English-speaking countries; 135 minutes elsewhere, subject to the PDF's extra-time confirmation condition | Confirmed in the exam PDF |
| Fee | US$350 on the current OMG certification page | Member/nonmember distinction unverified |
| Scheduling | Pearson VUE is referenced | Check current availability when booking |
| Prerequisite | UML Foundation | Confirmed |
| Question count | Not verified | Unverified |
| Passing threshold | Not verified | Unverified |
| Renewal rules | Not verified | Unverified |
| Pass rate | Not publicly disclosed | No official figure |
A note on the time allowance
The exam PDF distinguishes 105 minutes for native-English-speaking countries from 135 minutes elsewhere. That wording is geographic. Do not read it as a test of an individual candidate's English proficiency, and do not assume you personally qualify for the longer window without checking the PDF's extra-time confirmation condition and the current policy at registration.
A language detail worth verifying
The current OMG certification page advertises Japanese availability, while the pinned exam PDF lists English. These sources do not obviously agree, so verify the delivery language for your intended sitting directly with OMG or Pearson VUE before you pay. Cost planning is covered in OCUP Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown, and scheduling mechanics in OCUP Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.
Where Candidates Lose Points: The Eight Domains
With no pass rate to lean on, the domain weights are the most reliable quantitative guide to risk. The exam content maps to UML v2.5.1 chapters 7 through 20, and the eight domains below carry the weights shown. A candidate who is strong on the heavy domains can absorb weakness elsewhere; a candidate who is weak on Domain 1 faces a steep problem, because a fifth of the exam sits there.
| Domain | Weight | Why It Tends to Cost Points |
|---|---|---|
| 1. Activities & Actions | 20% | Token-flow semantics and many node and action types |
| 2. Basic Structure | 16% | Fine distinctions among constraints, dependencies, namespaces and multiplicity |
| 3. Interactions | 14% | Fragments, interaction uses and message semantics |
| 4. StateMachines & Use Cases | 13% | Protocol versus behavioral state machines |
| 5. Components | 12% | Provided and required interfaces, wiring |
| 6. Common Behavior | 10% | Events and behaviors that underpin several other domains |
| 7. Structured Classifiers | 9% | Parts, ports, connectors, collaborations |
| 8. Classification | 6% | Generalization sets, instances and classifier detail |
Domain 1: Activities & Actions (20%)
The single largest slice of the exam draws on the activities chapter and the actions chapter of the specification. Expect the intermediate level to probe semantics, not just notation recognition.
- Activity groups, control nodes and object nodes, including how tokens move through them
- Expansion regions and structured actions
- Invocation actions and how they relate to behaviors and signals
Domain 2: Basic Structure (16%)
This domain reaches into the foundational structural chapters, and precision matters because answer options often differ by a single semantic rule.
- Constraints, dependencies, namespaces, types and multiplicity
- Packages and how elements are owned and imported
- Associations and classes at the level of detail the specification defines
Domain 3: Interactions (14%)
Interaction questions reward careful reading of what a diagram actually asserts about ordering and participation.
- Lifelines, messages, fragments and interaction uses
- Sequence diagrams and communication diagrams as two views of interactions
- Intervals and time constructs as they apply to interaction timing
For a full walk-through of every content area, including the smaller domains, read OCUP Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 8 Content Areas.
How to Spot Fabricated Pass-Rate Claims
Because the real number is undisclosed, the internet fills the gap. Use these filters before trusting any figure you encounter.
- Look for a source. A legitimate statistic cites OMG, a dated report, or a methodology. A bare percentage with no citation is marketing copy.
- Check which credential is being discussed. The acronym OCUP is shared by several unrelated credentials from different organizations. A pass rate, fee or exam length quoted for another "OCUP" tells you nothing about the OMG UML exam. Confirm the page is about OMG Certified UML Professional: Intermediate before using any number.
- Beware suspiciously round or precise figures. Claims such as an exact first-attempt percentage, with no denominator, cannot be verified against any public OMG release.
- Distinguish anecdote from data. A forum post saying "most of my study group passed" is a story, not a rate.
Key Takeaway
When you cannot verify a pass rate, stop trying to estimate it and start measuring your own readiness against the eight published domains. That is the only data you control.
Readiness Signals That Beat a Pass-Rate Statistic
A pass rate describes a crowd. Your result depends on you. These OCUP-specific checkpoints are more predictive than any aggregate number.
Can you explain the semantics, not just name the symbol?
Intermediate-level questions on the UML 2 exam are built from the specification's rules. If you can name a symbol but cannot say what it constrains, you are at foundation level. Test yourself on topics like how multiplicity interacts with ownership, what distinguishes a protocol state machine from an ordinary state machine, or how a fragment changes the meaning of the messages it contains.
Do you handle the full chapter span?
The scope runs from Chapter 7 (constraints, dependencies, namespaces, types, multiplicity) through Chapter 20 (information flows), and includes less glamorous material such as Chapter 19's artifacts and nodes, Chapter 18's use cases, and Chapter 8's intervals and time. Candidates often over-invest in activities and state machines and then get surprised by deployment or information-flow items.
Are you reading at specification precision?
Because the pinned exam PDF is tied to UML v2.5.1, being fluent in an older or looser mental model of UML can hurt you. Where practice material or personal habit conflicts with the 2.5.1 wording, the specification wins.
Do you keep SysML out of your answers?
OMG also offers SysML Model Builder Fundamental and Intermediate certifications, but those PDFs specify SysML v1.2 and are separate from this exam. They are boundary references only. Do not import SysML concepts or terminology into your UML answers; the OCUP exam scope is UML.
If you are unsure whether you meet the baseline, review OCUP Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify, and then check your fluency against our OCUP Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts.
Sequencing Your Preparation by Domain Weight
Planning is the one place where generic method meets OCUP specifics. Because heavy domains depend on lighter foundational ones, order matters. Common Behavior (events and behaviors) underlies Activities, StateMachines and Interactions, so it makes sense to learn it before those domains rather than after. Likewise, Basic Structure and Classification supply the vocabulary that Structured Classifiers and Components assume.
Foundations: Basic Structure and Classification
- Constraints, dependencies, namespaces, types and multiplicity
- Generalization sets, instances, operations and properties
- Packages and ownership rules
Shared behavior layer: Common Behavior
- Events and behaviors, which feed three later domains
- Signals, receptions and interfaces
Largest domain: Activities & Actions
- Control nodes, object nodes, activity groups
- Expansion regions, invocation actions, structured actions
Interactions and StateMachines & Use Cases
- Fragments, interaction uses, lifelines, messages
- Protocol state machines versus behavioral state machines
- Use case relationships
Components, Structured Classifiers and deployment
- Components, encapsulated classifiers, collaborations
- Artifacts, nodes and information flows
- Full-scope timed review
This is a template, not a prescription; compress or stretch it to match your background. For a complete preparation framework see OCUP Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt, and for structured instruction options browse our overview of OCUP Training.
When you are ready to test yourself against realistic, independently written items, try the practice tests on the OCUP Exam Prep practice test site. Timed runs matter here: with 105 or 135 minutes depending on the rule that applies to you, pacing across a wide specification is part of the skill.
Who Values the Credential
A pass rate is only interesting if the credential is worth earning. The OMG Certified UML Professional: Intermediate signals that a practitioner can read and produce UML models at the level of the specification's detail, which is relevant wherever model-based design is practiced.
- Software architects and designers who need to communicate structure and behavior unambiguously.
- Systems and business analysts who model use cases, activities and information flows.
- Model-driven development teams and tool vendors that care about specification-accurate modeling.
- Consultancies and training providers that use an OMG credential as a verifiable proof point.
We do not quote salary figures here because we have no verified data to support them. For a qualitative look at earnings and career positioning, see OCUP Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis, OCUP Jobs, and Is the OCUP Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026.
Frequently Asked Questions
OMG does not publicly disclose a pass rate for the OMG Certified UML Professional: Intermediate (OCUP) exam. Any specific percentage you see without an OMG citation should be treated as unverified. Focus on mastering the eight published domains instead.
The difficulty comes mainly from breadth and precision: the scope spans UML v2.5.1 chapters 7 through 20, and questions test specification-level semantics. Candidates with solid UML Foundation knowledge and structured preparation across all eight domains are best positioned.
The exam PDF lists 105 minutes in native-English-speaking countries and 135 minutes elsewhere, subject to its extra-time confirmation condition. The wording is geographic, not a judgment of individual language skill, so confirm the rule that applies to you at registration.
The current OMG certification page lists US$350. Whether a member or nonmember distinction applies is unverified, so check the fee at the time of booking through OMG and Pearson VUE.
No. The exam scope is UML 2 at the intermediate level per the pinned PDF for UML v2.5.1. OMG's SysML Model Builder certifications are separate and reference SysML v1.2, so keep SysML concepts out of your UML preparation.
If you are weighing the credential against other options, our explainers What Is OCUP Certification? and OCUP Certification give the wider context, and our OCUP pass rate page is kept current as OMG releases new information.